Contact Us

Adrian Morris, EVP and CTO, Inducted Into SSPI’s Hall of Fame

Adrian Morris

Space & Satellite Professionals International (SSPI) recently inducted Adrian Morris, Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, into the prestigious Space & Satellite Hall of Fame. The honor recognizes Adrian as a visionary in the field, pushing the boundaries of satellite technology to new heights and fundamentally transforming the landscape of global connectivity.

Adrian joined Hughes as a hardware designer in 1982. He quickly distinguished himself by leading initiatives in the DYNAC, TDMA and SCPC TES product lines, as well as the Italsat SS-TDMA system, which paved the way for future generations of satellite systems. 

Under his leadership, Hughes designed and launched SPACEWAY® 3 in 2007, the first operational Ka-band satellite system to employ traffic switching and routing. Listed among Via Satellite’s “30 Events That Shaped the Satellite Industry” between 1986 and 2018, SPACEWAY 3 proved the use case for Ka-band and commercial satellite internet service over satellite.

As the demand for broadband satellite internet has grown, Adrian has continually driven innovations in satellite technologies. He has overseen the design and successful deployment of the JUPITER™ 1, JUPITER 2 and JUPITER 3 HTS satellites. Giving equal attention to ground segment technology, he leads the team that packages Hughes innovations into equipment and technologies for other industry players, including SES, Eutelsat, Intelsat, Inmarsat and Telesat.

Today, he oversees an engineering division of over 500 employees. Adrian holds multiple patents for his groundbreaking work in satellite communications, including inventions related to fixed, mobile and hybrid communications, enhanced quality of service and more.

Members of SSPI’s Hall of Fame are considered pioneers in communications, aerospace, scientific research, or the development and delivery of space and satellite applications for business, institutions and government. Induction is based on a record of significant achievement with lasting value. 

This was the 23rd Hall of Fame induction. Other inductees from Hughes include Paul Gaske, COO, in 2020, and Pradman Kaul, former Chairman and CEO, in 2009.